More Fall Fantasy from Charlaine Harris: ‘A Touch of Dead’ and ‘Grave Secret’…

Sooo awesome! Charlaine Harris is writing like nobody’s business and keeping we fans happy 🙂

Two more releases coming from Harris this fall, the stand alone collection of the short stories that take part in the Southern Vampire/Sookie Stackhouse Series, ‘A Touch of Dead’ will be released October 6, 2009 and Book 4 of the ‘Harper Connelly’ series arrives a few weeks later on October 27th.

‘A Touch of Dead’ looks as though they have gathered the Sookie stories from the previously published pieces in fantasy/scifi anthologies and put them in one convenient place in this release. If this is the case, there is a GREAT shortstory about Sookie and a were on the run in there, it was released originally as part of the Birthday stories in ‘Many Bloody Returns’:

atouchofdeadFrom Amazon:

And in the ‘Harper Connelly’ series, Novel 4 ‘Grave Secret’ will be released on October 27, 2009:


From Amazon, again no plot details published yet. At MiM we read quite a bit of Charlaine’s work, and although Sookie is our favorite by far, Harper comes in a close third, right behind Lily Bard, the heroine of the Shakespeare series (the Lily Bard- Shakespeare series is a mystery series but is non-supernatural, if you are a mystery fan Charlaine also writes the Aurora Teagarden mysteries. Charlaine is a PROLIFIC author!!!):

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley Hardcover (October 27, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425230155
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425230152
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Sales Rank: #2,120 in Books

Here is a description of the first Harper Connelly novel, Grave Sight, from Amazon:

From Publishers Weekly
Ever since Harper Connelly survived a zap from a lightning bolt, she’s been able to find dead people, a skill that makes the protagonist in the first installment of Harris’s new series a tad more bizarre than the mind-reading heroine of the author’s Sookie Stackhouse books (Dead as a Doornail, etc.). Harper travels to the Ozark town of Sarne, Ark., to find a missing teenage girl’s body, accompanied by her stepbrother, Tolliver, who acts as her manager and bodyguard and with whom she shares a thinly disguised physical attraction that they manage to keep at bay by engaging in casual sex with various partners. Finding the body takes no time at all, but leaving town afterward isn’t so easy. When Harper’s life is threatened and Tolliver ends up in jail on trumped-up charges, it quickly becomes apparent that something sinister is going on in Sarne. Harris delivers a knuckle-gnawing tale populated with well-developed, albeit edgy characters. A nifty puzzle toward the end will challenge the most jaded mystery buffs.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. –This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Booklist
Prolific author Harris debuts a series that just might surpass all her others in popularity. Harper Connolly is honest, ethical, loyal, and, in many people’s eyes, quite odd. Since being hit by lightning, Harper has a strange gift: she can find dead people and reveal how they died. Harper is so down-to-earth and delivers the story in such a straightforward way that even the most hardened realist eventually will accept the premise. In this first outing, Harper and her manager and stepbrother Tolliver travel to a small town in Arkansas to determine what happened to a local teenager. Once there, they learn that someone is willing go to great lengths–even murder–to bury a secret. While absorbing the usual mixture of awe, revulsion, and fear that her “gift” inspires in the locals, Harper tries to uncover the secret they are trying desperately to hide. Future stories may shed more light on Harper and Tolliver’s relationship, which seems curiously close for a sister and stepbrother. A strong debut that will have readers dying for more. Jenny McLarin
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved –This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

July 19, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , . Charlaine Harris, Entertainment, Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Popular Culture, Sci Fi, Supernatural, Suspense, True Blood, Urban Fantasy.


  1. เรียนภาษาจีนที่ไหนดี replied:

    Nice site – I hadn’t see before in my SE Drive up the nice work!


  2. ginaswo replied:

    and Maya I would NOT read the short stories before reading books 6-9 of the series, some of the spoilers may be revealed!!


  3. ginaswo replied:

    Hi Maya!

    A Touch of Dead is NOT books 6-9 of the series.

    A Touch of Dead is a compilation of the shortstories that have been published in anthologies

    I always check Charlaine’s blog for her bibliography before I buy since so many titles are in re publication with the success of the show :0)

    her blog here:

    bibliography here:

    these are the shortstories that should be in A Touch of Dead:

    Short Stories

    A Touch of Dead (Sookie short story collection)
    *Ace, October 6, 2009, ISBN-10: 0441017835; ISBN-13: 978-0441017836 (H)

    Must Love Hellhounds (contains short story “The Britlingens Go To Hell;” Sookieverse, but not featuring Sookie)
    *Berkley Trade, September 1, 2009, ISBN-10: 0425229599, ISBN-13: 978-0425229590 (T)

    Strange Brew (contains short story, “Bacon” featuring Dahlia; Sookieverse but not featuring Sookie)
    *St. Martin, July 7, 2009, ISBN-10: 0312383363; ISBN-13: 978-0312383367 (T)

    Unusual Suspects (contains short story, “Lucky” with Amelia and Sookie)
    Ace, 2008, ISBN-10: 0441016375; ISBN-13: 978-0441016372 (T)

    Wolfsbane and Mistletoe (contains short story, “Gift Wrap” with Sookie and Niall)
    *Ace, 2008, ISBN-10: 0-441-01633-2; ISBN-13: 978-0-441-01633-4 (H)

    Many Bloody Returns (contains short story, “Dracula Night” with Sookie, Eric and Pam)
    *Ace, 2009, ISBN-10: 0441016758; ISBN-13: 978-0441016754 (T)
    *Ace 2007, ISBN-10: 0-441-01522-0; ISBN13: 978-0-441-01522-1 (H)

    My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding (contains short story “Tacky” featuring Dahlia; Sookieverse but not featuring Sookie)
    *St. Martin’s Griffin 2006, ISBN-10: 0312343604; ISBN-13: 978-031234360 (T)
    *St. Martin’s Griffin; Book club edition 2006, ISBN-10: 0739473697; ISBN-13: 978-0739473696 (H)

    Bite (contains short story “One Word Answer,” a Sookie story that explains Hadley.)
    *Jove 2005, ISBN-10: 051513970X; ISBN-13: 978-0515139709 (M)

    Night’s Edge (contains novella “Dancers in the Dark” featuring Sean and Layla; Sookieverse, but not featuring Sookie) *Harlequin, August 1, 2009, ISBN-10: 0373774281; ISBN-13: 978-0373774289 (M)
    Harlequin, 2004, ISBN-10: 0373770103; ISBN-13: 978-0373770106 (M)

    Powers of Detection (contains short story, “Fairy Dust” with Sookie, Claudine and Claude)
    *Ace, 2006, ISBN-10: 044101464X; ISBN-13: 978-0441014644 (M)
    Ace 2004, ISBN-10: 0441011977; ISBN-13: 978-0441011971 (T)


  4. Maya replied:

    So, is the book A Touch of Dead focusing on all 9 books from Charlaine Harris or from books 6-9 only? I own books titled Dead in Dixie and Dead by Day written by Charlaine Harris. Dead in Dixie is the first three books of the Sookie Stackhouse series and Dead by Day is book 4 and 5. If A Touch of Dead is from book 6-9 of the Sookie Stackhouse series, then I might as well preorder the book.


  5. Kansas Mesothelioma Lawyer, KS , asbestos cancer, KS Law practice replied:

    […] More Fall Fantasy from Charlaine Harris: 'A Touch of Dead' and 'Grave Secret'… […]


  6. Pregnancy Dates Calculator replied:

    […] More Fall Fantasy from Charlaine Harris: 'A Touch of Dead' and 'Grave Secret'… […]


%d bloggers like this: